AgBioResearch scientist named AAAS Fellow

  • Pin It

Jonathan WaltonA Michigan State University (MSUAgBioResearch scientist is one of four MSU researchers being recognized nationally as a 2013 AAAS (American Association for the Advancement of Science) Fellow.

Jonathan Walton is a professor of plant biology and director of the U.S. Department of Energy’s Great Lakes Bioenergy Research Center at MSU.

Other MSU faculty members honored this year are Jerry Dodgson, professor in the Department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics; Kay Holekamp, professor in the Department of Zoology; and G. Mark Voit, professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy.

This national recognition is awarded to researchers for their efforts to advance science or its applications. During the last four years, 24 MSU faculty members have been named AAAS Fellows.

“These individuals are leaders in their disciplines and represent the great breadth and depth of research here at MSU,” said Stephen Hsu, vice president for research and graduate studies. “We are very proud of them.”

Walton was named an AAAS Fellow for his distinguished contributions to understanding the molecular basis of plant fungal interactions, particularly toxin synthesis by fungi and their role in causing plant disease. He received his Ph. D. from Stanford University and has been at MSU since 1987, receiving numerous awards and honors during that time.

“I am very honored to be named an AAAS Fellow,” Walton said. “The scientific discoveries that underlie this recognition would not have been possible without my great colleagues and strong support from MSU for biological research, especially in the plant sciences. Thank you especially to the outstanding students and postdoctoral researchers that I’ve had the privilege to work with over the years.”

Nearly 702 AAAS members were selected as AAAS Fellows for 2013. The winners will be formally recognized Feb. 16 during the annual AAAS meeting in Boston, Mass.

Photo:  Jonathan Walton is a professor of Plant Biology and director of the U.S. Department of Energy’s Great lakes Bioenergy Research Center at MSU.

Click to subscribe to our e-publications: