AgBioResearch Scientists Are First Recipients of Elwood Kirkpatrick Dairy Science Research Fund

  • Pin It

Two dairy science research projects led by MAES scientists were selected to receive the first funds awarded from the Elwood Kirkpatrick Dairy Science Research Endowment, established in honor of Elwood Kirkpatrick, former president of the Michigan Milk Producers Association (MMPA).

The endowment, with matching support from the MSU Department of Animal Science, the MSU College of Agriculture and Natural Resources, MSU Extension, the Michigan Agricultural Experiment Station and the MMPA, awarded $10,000 in competitive research dollars for 2008.

Robert Tempelman, MAES biostatistician and geneticist, and Nora Bello, MSU animal science doctoral student, were awarded funding for their project, “Modeling the role of herd management on the relationship between production and reproduction in dairy cows.” Lorraine Sordillo and Ronald Erskine, MAES large animal clinical sciences researchers, received funding for their project, “Bovine leukosis virus and vaccine responsiveness in dairy cattle.”

Researchers were encouraged to submit proposals addressing dairy industry-identified priorities: animal waste recycling, nutrient management/utilization, and manure handling and storage; animal comfort and well-being, health and reproduction; business, financial management skills, management information systems and profitability; labor and management skills; or planned growth and profit strategies.

The MMPA board of directors established the Elwood Kirkpatrick Dairy Science Research Endowment at MSU in 2007 upon Kirkpatrick’s retirement from the MMPA, which he served as president for 26 years. Numerous industry organizations and individuals have also contributed to the endowment fund in support of dairy and dairy-related research and education programs.

Click to subscribe to our e-publications: